Pink’s Hot Dogs by Steven

Until you’ve been to Pink’s Hot Dogs, you really haven’t eaten the best hot dog in Los Angeles. There’s a good reason why there’s usually a long line at this 70+ year establishment. Pink’s offer huge sausages with a considerable amount of toppings, and with so many different variety of toppings offered, it may be difficult to choose just one. Luckily, they do offer specialty hot dogs that are their most popular. I ended up getting the Planet Hollywood Dog, which has polish sausage, grilled onions, grilled mushrooms, crispy bacon, and nacho cheese oozing from the top. I also got onion rings and for an additional 95 cents, some homemade barbecue sauce. However, the Planet Hollywood Dog was enough to fill me up so I gave my onion rings to my roommate, and for just $6.60 for the dog, that’s quite a good deal for dinner.

As I mentioned before, there is usually a long line. I was lucky enough to have only half a dozen people in front of me. In order for them to expedite service, you would order pretty much the same way you would order a sandwich from Subway’s. A person will be assigned to take your order and make your hot dog by the counter. If you have friends, he/she will take your orders together. You would then move to the cashier to order your drinks.

There’s seats available in two rooms and an outside patio. Condiments are located just past the cashier. They also make sure to provide you with plenty of napkins because you’ll definitely need it to handle the massive size of your dog.

They do have free parking offered in their small private lot, but it’s stacked parking so a valet will park your car for you. There’s metered parking on La Brea Ave, and there’s free one-hour street parking before 6pm in the residential area by Pink’s, but as always, be wary of signs. For those who take public transportation, buses 10, 48, 212, and 312 all pass by Pink’s. Pink’s Hot Dogs is located on 709 La Brea Avenue.

Until next time,

Steven

4 thoughts on “Pink’s Hot Dogs by Steven

  1. Seeing the line at Pink’s is usually is a deterrent for me. 🙂 Thank you for the review, LA on a Budget! Your review makes me want to brave the line…not today with the rain though. 😉 Keep up the great work!

  2. Ok — I’m from LA (now living in Alabama) and I am so sad to say that I can’t recall if I’ve ever been to Pinks. I may have gone as a kid with my parents, but since I am going home for Christmas, I am going to make a point to visit! I’m so hungry now.

Leave a Reply

